Introduction and problem installing

Hello everyone!

My name’s Joe and I’m a student at Colorado State University. I’m attempting to install Panda3D 1.4.2 on Visual Studio 2005 (version 8 if I’m not terribly mistaken, just a bit new to Visual Studio), and I keep encountering some problems.

Under the “additional include directories” I’ve included:

note: ${Pandadir} = C:\Panda3D-1.4.2

{Pandadir}\include {Pandadir}\thirdparty\win-libs-vc8\nspr\include (Yep, downloaded third party tools)
${Pandadir}\thirdparty\win-python

And under “Additional Library Directories” I’ve added:

{Pandadir}\thirdparty\win-python\libs {Pandadir}\lib

The third party download didn’t seem to include this directory, (I’m assuming this was moved since version 1.3.x, the version the tutorial was written for):

${Pandadir}\thirdparty\win-libs-vc8\nspr\lib

When I attempt to compile the first sample program in the tutorial including just what’s listed above, I get:

“c:\panda3d-1.4.2\include\pandanode.h(55) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: ‘Python.h’: No such file or directory”

So I searched for Python.h and found one under ${Pandadir}\include\parser-inc, and included that directory, but when I try to compile that, I get a gajillion other errors (syntax errors, mostly), so I’m assuming that’s not the Python.h it’s looking for.

I’m sorry if the solution to this has been posted, I tried searching the forums and Google, but I just can’t find the solution. I’d be very grateful if someone would help me out.

Thanks again! Panda3D looks awesome!

Edit: Visual Studio’s code completion is working on the samples, so I know it’s finding at least pandaFramework.h and pandaSystem.h.

Hey again.

I finally got the sample to compile, but when I run it, I get errors along the lines of “Unhandled exception at msvcr80.dll in pview.exe: Access violation reading location .”