Introduce yourself

Welcome to the forums, MJ-meo-dmt! :slight_smile: We look forward to seeing what you’ll be making with Panda3D.

Hi there, I’m also new. I’ve known about Panda3D for a while but never downloaded it until today. All I can say is brilliant! I love multi-platform development (I’m someday hoping to develop games for Linux/OS X), and I believe this is the perfect tool for the job!

Panda3D’s fantastic!

It’s definitely different from what I’m used to; I’m using it with Python and I must admit that it’s kind of tough to transition from BASIC to Python. :stuck_out_tongue: The good news is that some of it seems really similar to C# which I’m also learning (for game development on the Xbox 360), so that’s helping a lot. :slight_smile:

One of the examples that’s helping me the most is the cartoon shading example. It explains so much!

I’ve been using P3D for less than four months. The first thing I like to do with a new Engine is all the little things.

[b]Things like finding out how the memory management is going to work (which is a big thing).

Testing the particle system’s render speed and if it’s too slow, then write my own particle code.

Determine if the engine can handle a dozen Avatars on the screen at one time or not.

Find out how to do all the basic API stuff, like moving around, loading and destroying resources and play/stop animations.[/b]

I like to find out how to do things cheaply right from the start. For instance, Collision Geometry is expensive. I knew there had to be a better way to do it and there was, exporting collision geometry tagged as barrier.

It’s common practice for commercial game artists to create a collision level for the game level they model. Of course that collision level is done very cheaply.