ImportError: No module named direct.directbase.DirectStart

I have a current OSX (10.10.3) with current xcode tools. I just installed the latest stable panda and tried the asteroids demo.

This problem has been posted before but the replies don’t seem to fix the problem. I recently installed MacPython which may be relevant because it installs a different python but I thought ppython was supposed to work around such conflicts. I get the same error if I use /usr/bin/python instead. I am an experienced unix/python developer though not on the Macintosh.It would help if I knew such things as where panda gets installed and how that location is passed to the python interpreter. Automated installers are simple to use but they hide all details needed for debug.

papa:Asteroids steve$ ppython Tut-Asteroids.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Tut-Asteroids.py”, line 13, in
import direct.directbase.DirectStart

papa:Asteroids steve$ pwd
/Developer/Examples/Panda3D/Asteroids

papa:Asteroids steve$ ppython -V
Python 2.6.9

papa:Asteroids steve$ /usr/bin/python -V
Python 2.7.6

papa:Asteroids steve$ /usr/bin/python Tut-Asteroids.py
File “Tut-Asteroids.py”, line 13, in

Hi, welcome to the forums!

What I’m guessing is that you installed MacPython on top of the built-in Python installation, which is bad. In general, on Mac OS X, it is better not to mess with the Python installation. Is there a reason why you can’t use Apple’s provided Python version?

Also make sure that you installed Panda 1.9.0, not 1.8. 1.9.0 addresses some important issues relating to Mac 10.10.

To help diagnose the issue, you should run ppython and print out sys.path.

Thanks for your help rdb… I’m having the same issue. Running OSX 10.10. I get the exact same error:

File “”, line 1, in

I printed out sys.path and got this:

i also used these to check my python version, but I get different results from python -V and ppython -V: