how to setup multipass?

hello, i am new to Panda3D and Python. there are alot to learn.
i just read about multipass in the manual, it can be a solution for my problem:
i want to create a game with visual range of 50km or more, while still see the nearby objects(1 meter or less) clearly. the Z-buffer is surely not enough for this large visual range.
so using multipass with several cameras to render the far away scene and the close scene may solve this problem.
my setting should be: all cameras located at the same position, and same angles, but the nearclip and farclip values should be different.
currently i only have the default camera in the scene.
how should i setup the cameras in Python language? thanks in advance.

I say, don’t make it complicated until you have to. Try the Z-buffer on your existing visual range. It doesn’t sound outrageous to me.

David

hi,
the reason that i said the z-buffer is not enough for a scene with nearclip 1 meter and farclip 50km , is that:
z-buffer has at most 24-bit precision, if i set nearclip=1meter and farclip=50000meters, the z-buffer can’t tell the difference between 1000meter and 1000.01 meter. so if 2 objects are close to each other, there is the z-fighting phenomenon.

if the camera is on uneven ground, this is not a big problem, as the visual range is small anyway. but if the camera is in the sky, viewing down the ground, this problem is apparent.

That may be true (although on my back-of-the-napkin arithmetic, 24 bits ought to be enough, but it’s close).

But still, the much simpler solution is to create your model such that there aren’t objects that are visible from the sky that are so close to each other that they require 1cm of depth precision to resolve them. That is, give them 2cm or 4cm of separation if necessary.