How to create/implement lightmap?

Let me first say what my overall objective is, and then I’ll ask my question. I’m pretty new to game dev, so maybe lightmaps aren’t even what I should be looking at. So, my overall objective is to make my renders look better. The problem as far as I can tell is that everything is getting the same amount of shading, e.g. a cube in the shadow of a wall has the same color value all around and thus looks like a blob. From reading around, this is because only direct lighting is being used to calculate the cube’s final color and since it’s in the shade it gets just one color value. After further reading, it seems like the best way to get indirect lighting into the scene is to use lightmaps.

And now, my questions: how does one go about generating a lightmap? It seems other game engines generate them in their editors. What is the panda3d method? Then, once I have a lightmap, how do I apply it in the scene? Presumably, it’s some kind of texture, but does it need a specific texture mode (like what normal maps do)?

Lastly, some relevant facts about my setup: I’m using a simple scene of a room (no ceiling) with ambient light and a directional light, and the cube sits just off center in the room. I’m using the auto-shader to achieve the shadow effect I have currently. All my assets were created in blender 2.8 and exported to egg using the 2.8 fork of YABEE.

Thank you for your help!

I have not played much with light maps, but I would probably try to have Blender bake the light maps. The results of the light map needs to be multiplied with your diffuse, which you can do in a custom shader or use multi-texturing and making sure the lightmap is set to modulate, which is the default.