Hello World: SpinCameraTask Jitter problem

I am just learning Panda3D and Python (I have programmed basic, C, C++, C# in the past)… and there is a definite issue with Jitter when running the hello world tutorial:

import direct.directbase.DirectStart
from direct.task import Task
from direct.actor import Actor
import math

#Load the first environment model
environ = loader.loadModel("models/environment")
environ.reparentTo(render)
environ.setScale(0.25,0.25,0.25)
environ.setPos(-8,42,0)

#Task to move the camera
def SpinCameraTask(task):
  angledegrees = task.time * 6.0
  angleradians = angledegrees * (math.pi / 180.0)
  base.camera.setPos(20*math.sin(angleradians),-20.0*math.cos(angleradians),3)
  base.camera.setHpr(angledegrees, 0, 0)
  return Task.cont

taskMgr.add(SpinCameraTask, "SpinCameraTask")

#Run the tutorial
run() 

My system is an Intel E8500 with 4 GB RAM, 1TB HD and ATI 4850. I would expect it to extremely well for a simple demo. Yet, I am experiencing a definite visual Jitter when running this tutorial.

I am also experiencing the same Jitter with the demo programs such as Ball in maze, and solar system etc…
The jitter appears to be around the same time as a heart beat… or second… so, every second or there is a “beat” of jitter.

I have also tested the same demo’s on a portable computer (core 2 duo, integrated gfx) and it has the same problem.

None of my regular games have this issue. It seems isolated to Panda3D programs.

Can anyone help to figure out how to get rid of this jitter?

Hmm, maybe it’s related to video syncing not being done correctly?
Edit your /etc/Config.prc (linux) or C:\Panda3D-1.5.4\etc\Config.prc file, add a line saying:

sync-video #f

and see if the jitter goes away (the fps should go above 60/70 now)

Yes, that fixed the problem.

FRAPS is also showing >1000 FPS now.

This will help me greatly in tweaking future programs!

Thank you very much.