Ground is only showing as black with no colour or texture

Hi, I am quite new to using Panda3d so am quite inexperienced with the engine, although I have been programming in Python for a while now. I am creating a program which is supposed to search a maze and find the exit point. I am trying to set up my scene but when I try and load the model of the ground it loads in but it is only black and shows no texture. I am unsure if it is something wrong with the model or if there is something with the lights in the scene which I am doing wrong so any help is appreciated. My code is below:

def loadGround(self):
        #load ground
        ground = self.loader.loadModel(self.mydir + "/my-models/Ground2")
        ground.setScale(10,10,10)
        ground.setPos(0,0,-5)
        ground.reparentTo(self.render)

def loadMaze(self):
        #load maze
        maze = self.loader.loadModel(self.mydir + "/my-models/HamptonCourtMaze")
        maze.setScale(.7,.7,.7)
        maze.setPos(-7,20,-3)
        maze.reparentTo(self.render)

def setupLights(self):
        # lights
        self.ambientLight = self.render.attachNewNode(AmbientLight('ambient'))
        self.ambientLight.node().setColor((0.1, 0.1, 0.1, 1))
        self.render.setLight(self.ambientLight)
        # directional lights
        self.dirLight = self.render.attachNewNode(DirectionalLight('directional'))
        self.dirLight.node().setColor((.1, .1, .25, 1))

# setup light vector
        lightFromBack = .4
        lightFromLeft = .2
        lightFromBottom = 1
        lightVec3 = Vec3(lightFromBack, lightFromLeft, lightFromBottom)
        lightVec3.normalize()
        self.dirLight.node().setDirection(lightVec3)
        self.render.setLight(self.dirLight)

# add spotlight for shadows
        self.spotLight = self.render.attachNewNode(Spotlight('spot'))
        self.spotLight.node().setColor((1, 1, 1, 1))
        self.spotLight.node().setShadowCaster(True, 1024, 1080)

#fitting near and far planes for the light