Graphic card recommendation

Hi

I am new to 3D development. My PC is a bit old with an integrated graphic card running Windows XP. It cannot run those shader programs and I plan to add a new graphic card to do some panda development and Cg experiments. I would like to get your recommendation on selecting a right graphics card, with a good performance and reasonable cost. Would it be an advantage to use NVIDIA cards for Cg development/experiment ?

Thanks a lot !

First of all, welcome! Hope you enjoy all the great possibilities Panda provides. :slight_smile:

I have an NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS, and it’s been absolutely great for all my Panda work. I got it over a year ago, so I imagine that there are much better ones now, and that one is even cheaper. I highly recommend all of their cards.

I would personally recommend one of the NVIDIA GeForce 8x00 series. I don’t recommend choosing a card that’s too new, or you’ll end up making a game that will only run fine on the latest cards.
I used to have a GeForce 5200, which sucked, but when you have a crappy card, you’re much more focused on optimizing, which can be a good thing.

For a card that you want to use for gaming and will keep for a few years, I’d recommend at least a 9xxx series nVidia card but if you just want to develop using Panda, an 8x00 series sounds about right.

It is also very important that you check which slots are on your motherboard. Graphics cards now come for PCI Express slot, but AGP was the slot used for many years. You should check your motherboard for which slots it has (search for pictures of each slot as reference). If you don’t have either you will need to get a graphics card for generic PCI. Or use it as an excuse to upgrade your computer, which should only cost you at most $500USD if you do it yourself.