GeoMipTerrain not loading

Hi all, I’m trying to play with GeoMipTerrain, but when I try to import it with “from pandac.PandaModules import GeoMipTerrain” like in the manual’s sample it can’t find it to import and I get an error.

I don’t have any problem loading any other module, just this one. Anyone know what might be going on? I’m running 1.5.2 on a mac

Don’t use terrain.setBruteforce(True) if you are using 1.5.2
I don’t think the image has to be 8bit. I used both an 8bit and 32bit, and they both loaded. However you could try decreasing the color depth of your image and see if that helps.
I’m just guessing. I’m no pro at this, so maybe someone else might have a better suggestions, or even the solution.

from pandac.PandaModules import GeoMipTerrain

terrain = GeoMipTerrain("mySimpleTerrain")
terrain.setHeightfield(Filename("yourHeightField.png"))
#terrain.setBruteforce(True)
terrain.getRoot().reparentTo(render)
terrain.generate()

I used this from the manual and my terrain loaded.
It was just flat though. So I then had to use this:

terrain.getRoot().setSz(10)

It now has form.
I now have to apply a texture.

EDIT:
I just realized that I did not address your problem. You are really saying that the module isn’t loading. Sorry

Hmm, what exact error do you get?
It might be possible your version of either makepanda or panda/src/grutil/Sources.pp (which are you using?) is old and does not contain the geoMipTerrain compile instructions.

Since I’m on a Mac I installed Panda by Hypnos’s instructions. I see geomipterrain.cxx, .h and .l in the /src directory but that’s the only place I can find any files relating to it.

I’m at my work computer now so I can’t get the exact error but it’s basically the same as trying to load any module that can’t be located.

Which instructions? Can you give me a link?
I’m currently building Panda3D on Mac using ppremake. As far as I know the ppremake system compiles geoMipTerrain fine.