First 3d game in panda3d questions

I have several questions about what I should do, regarding my “first 3d game” and approaches to take. I’m a Computer Science student and being my first year in the major, only know C. However, I taught myself Python with a “teach yourself Python in 30 days” type books, and feel pretty comfortable using Python (could maybe use some more practice).
I’ll cut to the chase. I want to create a 3d beer-pong game. I have yet to use panda, and am curious about what approach to take. Should I begin just doing the panda tutorials directly, or try to apply them to my game idea right away? I know I should start simple and don’t want to get over-ambitious. So maybe start by just creating the “world” and a few objects (table, cups, etc.) Maybe allow the character to walk around the room and approach the table to begin the game.
I haven’t made any physics based games and I know that it will require quite a bit of physics with the ball and so on (perhaps cups tipping depending on strength of throw). Should I just practice with simpler physics first? or just jump right in and start working with the physics for my game idea?
Any comments/suggestions are greatly appreciated, I will also gladly accept advice on starting points/tutorials, or anything else you would like to add.
Thanks,
Brian.

I assume you’re referring to Panda examples; yes, it could be useful to study the examples before starting with the project. However, consider only those related to features you’ll want to implement.

Maybe that’s the best idea. :slight_smile:

I think this is a subjective matter. There are people that work directly in the game, and others that experiment before modifying the code. I am in the middle: i try to implement a feature in the game, but when I find difficulties, I implement that feature in another little project that use only it. So, I don’t have many side effects induced by the “big” game code, and the following integration is tipically simple.