feasibility of a project

Hello,

I’m investigating a move to a 3D representation for a project.

Basically the only requirement is a realistic representation of a female thorax.

The only animation requirements are movement of the arms from a position beside the body to a upward pointing position and a change from the front view to a profile view.

The most important part of all this is the representation of the shape of the breasts. The representation should be “morph-able”, that means the shape should change in response to some measurements.

Now the questions:

1. Can Panda3D help me with something like this?
  2. What would such a project involve? I ask this because I have ZERO experience with 3D.

Thank you in advance.
Peter

Panda can easily handle such a project. First thing that you would have to do would be modeling the mesh, animating it and making the blend shapes/morph targets for the breasts.

After this its a matter of hooking it all up in Panda. Importing the mesh and playing the animations are a pretty straight forward matter, its covered in the manual. Likewise with the camera positioning.

The breast blend shapes/morph targets would be something not covered in the Manual but is also simple to do. I can’t remember how to right now though, but I’ve done it before. I’ll get back or post it on code snipplets when I figure out how to again.

hmmm… for a starter in 3D buissnes it is going to be tough.

If you never programmed before, it is likely that you should spend some hours in programming doing projects that don’t have to do with your current one. (This is just and only to get a clue - the feeling - in how to do what.)

It depends on the level of realism your model needs to provide. Don’t expect reality there. :wink:

If Zero says it is possible, then it may be. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t want to frighten you away. But I don’t think its a good idea to generate the hope that the problem can be solved with 5 clicks and3 lines of code. :wink: