Exporting from Maya to Panda

Hi everyone, I’m new to both Panda and Maya, but I have been reading the Panda manual, and when I create an egg file of a Maya scene and render it in Panda, I get a white model (no texture at all) and sometimes not even the whole model (some parts of it are absent in the Panda version). Of course I have been following the instructions and have been only using Phong in Maya, and a picture texture, just as the guide orders.

I’m using the graphical MayaPandaTool, as the command line version doesn’t work for me.

I’d appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks!

Sometimes people have trouble with the paths to their textures. Take a look in the egg file. The first few lines will normally contain all of the texture references in the egg file. Are your textures listed, and are the paths correct? If they appear to be correct, then when you load the egg file, do you see any error messages about missing or unreadable texture files?

David

Sorry for the noob question, but how do I " take a look in the egg file"? I mean, I can open it with my editor, is that what you mean? If so, everything looks correct in there. Also, no error messages whatsoever when I execute my program. Sometimes I get lucky and half model appears with no textures or colors or whatever. At other times it doesn’t show up at all. Is there an easier way to convert from Maya? Maybe I should try another program?

Yes, you can open it up in an editor–it’s just a text file. I really don’t understand what you mean when you say it works “sometimes”.

The most reliable way to convert Maya to egg is to use the command-line tool, because that gives you full control over all of the options. In what way does that not work for you? It must work, because the graphical plugin is really just invoking the command-line tool in the background.

Can you email me your egg file and textures so I can see what you’re talking about?

David