Entity systems and components in Panda3D

Some months ago I read an article:
cowboyprogramming.com/2007/01/05 … -heirachy/
and also more in-depth series of articles:
t-machine.org/index.php/2007/09/ … nt-part-1/

I really like the idea of implementing entire game engine in a modular way where I can match and mix every feature as needed using behaviorless components and keep the game behavior in subsystems, where the subsystems communicate through a unified messaging system.

Currently I’m experimenting with a separate C++ game world server (using enet networking) and I’m wondering how it will turn out when I get to the client code and integrating graphics and client side physics.

I’m still new to Panda3D so I would like to know if Panda3D has something to support such architecture out of the box or it would be too time consuming to implement? Will Panda3D plug in nicely in such an entity system?

Hi, those were both interesting reads. I am only speculating here, but I would think that you would not be able to use Panda3d to implement true Entity Systems as described in those links. Panda3d is completely object oriented in its structure and I don’t see how you could reduce your game objects to true entities since you will always be interacting with objects on the Panda side of things. Everything that ends up on the scene graph is an object (a node, or an Actor) and is manipulated by objects (collision traverser, Transforms, etc.), so if you tried to adhere to strict ES philosophy you would be losing all the advantages of the stream-lined, low memory print ES approach while also giving up the advantages of the OO approach; it might end up being the worst of both worlds. I could be wrong but I believe both articles are referring to building a game engine basically from scratch and not using a third party graphics engine like Panda.