Creating an intermediary application in panda/pyQt

So I’m totally new to panda, but have a reasonable grasp of python and a very good grasp of maya and mel- I was thinking of a project to start up in my spare time to help get my python knowledge up to snuff.

unfortunately I don’t know too much about panda and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the following:

I’d like to create an intermediary interface application for animators which would allow a picking interface that could talk to maya, xsi, or any other 3d application, and what I want to do is dock a panda3d window inside of a pyQt UI, and use panda to display 3d primitives ( or very simple geometry) that represent control objects inside of the 3Dapp.

As a further step a config file for each set of objects (prolly xml) would be used to describe what corresponding action to perform in maya if you clicked on (selected) a particular object or element in the panda view

Ideally, though the 3D environment would allow the user to pan around the control structure, the app would be python controlled, and functionally behave mostly like a 2d application, I’ve seen similar things done in 2d with mel, or html/flash, but I’ve always found the implmentation to be fairly clumsy

Does anyone have any thoughts on if something like this would work, is a good idea, or knows of some example code that does similar things?

panda3d window inside of a pyQt UI possible but pretty hard. I guess mel is maya’s programming language i have no clue haw far it goes. The main thing is i don’t get “why” but i guess you know. The only problem i see is running panda inside a pyQt ui. Dont think you could modify maya to to have panda3d inside its window. Panda3d window could probably exist on its own. Most of the time you will be dealing with mel and Qt - for me this will be a very frustrating project :slight_smile: