Creating an audio only node object

Hello,
I am very new to panda3d and am looking for a way to create a node object without needing to supply an image? I just want to have a sound for the object. What would be the best way of doing this?
I was thinking I could subclass either model or actor, but there has to be a better way.
thank you,

You can make a node that has no geometry, nor any visual representation.
Use:

my_node = render.attachNewNode('my_node')

or

my_node = NodePath('my_node') 

That worked great!
So do I need to render something without an image? Does render do more than display to the screen?

This maybe should go in a new topic, but the attached sounds to a node come out as relative to the listener, not in direct space. So in the following code, the 0,0,0 is on top of the listener when it should be to the left.

#Note that at 100 the sound is almost at 0 but not quite. at y0, x 1 the sound is on the right ear and y0 x -1 has sound in the left ear.

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
app = ShowBase()
from direct.showbase import Audio3DManager

app.camera.setPos(5, 5, 0)

item = app.render.attachNewNode('my node')
x = 0
y = 20
item.setPos(x, y, 0)

audio3d = Audio3DManager.Audio3DManager(base.sfxManagerList[0], app.camera)
audio3d.attachListener(app.camera)

sound = audio3d.loadSfx('step.ogg')
audio3d.attachSoundToObject(sound, item)

def cy(num):
	global y
	y += num
	item.setPos(x, y, 0)

def cx(num):
	global x
	x += num
	item.setPos(x, y, 0)

def printer():
	print("X: %s, Y: %s" % (x, y))

app.accept('space', sound.play)
app.accept('arrow_up', cy, [1])
app.accept('arrow_down', cy, [-1])
app.accept('arrow_right', cx, [1])
app.accept('arrow_left', cx, [-1])
app.accept('p', printer)

app.run()

Try base.disableMouse() before setting up initial camera position. It’s disables the default mouse control, otherwise camera.setPos will not affect on real camera position, more specifically, the position will be overwritten by default controller.