Creating a maze by from 2d matrix

Hey, I am entirely new to Panda3d and I have no prior experience working with a 3D Engine whatsoever, what I want to do is give a 2d matrix input of 0s and 1s and construct a 3d maze out of it, with 1s as walls and 0s as movable and then use it for maneuvering a vehicle in it.

How do I get started??

You can take a look at Procedurally Generating 3D Models section of the manual. Another option is to convert the matrix into a heightmap/heightfield that can be used for rendering (e.g., GeoMipMapTerrain, ShadderTerrainMesh) and physics (e.g., BulletHeightfieldShape).

Would you happen to know how to create just a plain surface with a cube on it, I will probably be able to reverse engineer my way from there

I would recommend going through the hello world example from the manual.

I know but there are way too many components to go through all of them, I mean isn’t there just a simple code that just models a cube or something at a certain point

Yes, there is. Check out the “Procedural Cube” sample program included in the samples folder of the SDK.

I have some code that takes a black and white image and creates a 3D maze (with collisions) from it using just a floor, a wall and a column model.

I can share the code if that’s something along the lines of what you need (I just need to find it - may take a day or two).

That would be really helpful mate, I am trying to set a simulator for a deep RL problem

Ok, so from what I have read( and hopefully understood) I will need to use a bullet world for the physics and everything.Lets break down the problem into sub-parts, so the first thing that I would would want is a plane surface on which on place things. How do I do that?

Ok so from what I have understood you can create a plane following the example code like this:

shape = BulletPlaneShape(Vec3(0, 0, 1), 1)
node = BulletRigidBodyNode('Ground')
node.addShape(shape)
np = render.attachNewNode(node) 
np.setPos(0, 0, -2)