Creating a circle-shaped asteroid field

Hello there! I’m new to Panda3d, this is my first program. I want to create a Solar System, with planets, moons, asteroids, etc.
Now I have problem creating the asteroid field that separates the inner Solar System and the outer one. I used a loop to create several asteroids at random positions (between parameters), but it doesn’t work. This code is just a try to make a part of the full circle.

def astergen(self):
        params = [2000, 2100, 0, 100, -25, 25]
        af = 0
        while af != 500:
           x = randrange(params[0]-1, params[1])
           y = randrange(params[2]-1, params[3])
           z = randrange(params[4]+1, params[5])
           aster = loader.loadModel("models/Asteroid.bam")
           aster.reparentTo(render)
           aster.setPos(x, y, z)
           aster.setScale(30)
           if af == 100 or af == 200 or af == 300 or af == 400:
               params = [params[0]+50, params[1]+50, params[2]+100, params[3]+100, -25, 25]
           af = af+1

Can you help me out?

Hmm… Well, since you’re adding a linear amount to your parameters on each iteration, the result will indeed be linear.

To get a circle, I’d suggest using sine- and cos- functions. Specifically, the coordinates of a circle can be described as follows, if I recall correctly:

x = sin(angle) * radius
y = cos(angle) * radius

The value of “angle” could then be linearly increased from 0 to pi * 2 in order to describe a full circle, I believe.

Thank you for your help! I’ll try your solution.

1 Like

You mean that I increase angle from 0 to pi*2 with like, 10, or something? (Sorry if I’m stupid, I only started programming 3 years ago(I’m 15).

Not at all. I doubt that many of us start off knowing everything!

Sort of–except that pi * 2 equals 6.28…, meaning that an increase of 10 would far overshoot.