Complete newbie a bit confused

Hi. Im totally new to Panda and thought id check it out as it looks very intresting. Im just a bit confused how Python works with it. Once you have written your code how do go about compiling it, and once compiled, do you need python installed to run the .exe file. Also where abouts do you store your code (the .py) files to work with, in the python directory or just simply in the panda directory as example code referes to models in the panda3d/models directory (code says: "loader.loadModel(“models/environment”). No matter where I store the .py files they always seem to load the models (like its built in to look in the panda3d/models directory). I am just wondering for when it comes to compile if it will be looking in the correct directoty

I hope you know what im talking about :smiley:

Oh yeah, once compiled (and if you do or dont need python) do you need to include any .dll files from panda for it to run on other machines

Compiling a panda program is something you will have to do on your own for now. You can search for py2exe in these forums as others have discussed how to do this.

As far as storing the python code, you should be able to store it anywhere. Panda uses its own version of python (ppython) to run the files which has a path in the system environment variables(in windows). The default models are loaded using a path stored in panda’s config.prc file (located in your-panda-directory/etc) Thats why you can load the default models from anywhere. You can specify your own default model, sound and texture paths in this file.

Note that we are assuming that by “compiling” you mean “making an .exe file for distribution to other people”. If you just mean “how do I run a Python program”, then you should understand that normally Python is not compiled in the same sense that C++ is, but the Python interpreter loads and runs the .py files directly.

If you need an answer on the total-newbie-stage; here it is: