Collisions from Maya to Panda3d

Hello everybody.

I’m new to Panda3D and the forum, so I’d like to ask for help in a program that i’m building to learn a little about Panda3D.

I’m trying to understand how collision works. So I constructed in Maya2008 a cube and flagged the cube with melScript. In the egg file, it appears "ObjectType "

Here is the start of the egg file:
{ Y-Up }

{
“maya2egg2008 -a model -o colTeste.egg cube.mb”
}
phong3SG {
teste1.jpg
format { rgb }
wrapu { repeat }
wrapv { repeat }
minfilter { linear_mipmap_linear }
magfilter { linear }
}
cube {
{ 1 }
groundPlane_transform {
}
pSphere1 {
{ barrier }
pSphereShape1.verts {
0 {
-0.92871 -1.60775 -1.70911
{ 0 0.05 }
{ 0.148755 -0.987692 -0.0483336 }
{ 1 1 1 1 }
}

Then I imported a ball (constructed in Maya too) without any kind of collision flagged. Using panda3D, I created a collision sphere to be around that ball.

Then, I instanciated a CollisionHandlerPusher and added the node attached to the CollisionSphere.

Finally, to test it, I implemented a method in which the ball moves toward the cube everytime a key is pressed. The problem is that the ball goes through the cube, ignoring completely the fact that should be a collision.

It should be a small beginner mistake, but I searched a lot in the forum and didn’t find the answer.

Thank’s just for reading all ths text =)

The “-a model” means that you have converted the file as an animated model. This is probably a mistake: you don’t actually have any joints or animation in your model, so there’s no reason to convert it this way; “-a none” would be a better choice, which is the way to convert a file as a static model.

As it happens, Panda doesn’t support loading a collision solid from an animated model, so in order to load your egg file properly, you will have to convert it with “-a none”.