CollisionHandlerFloor bounces

Hi, i’m a python developer and I’m trying to learn to use the panda3d engine.

I decided to start with Roaming Ralph, made him OO, added jumping, made some changes in the camera… and so far so good. Then i decided to play arround with the CollisionHandler, changing it to a CollisionHandlerFloor.

The jumping now it’s much easier, doesn’t need any special code for falling down… but every step ralph’s take into an uneven terrain, he bounces. The intensity and the time it will bouce depends on how much the setMaxVelocity is set… if it’s not set at all, the camera falls and you can only see the ground… if its 1, he bounces a little when he walks up, and he sloooowly falls when he walks back down, then he bouces again… if its 5 he allways stays on the ground bouncing, and higher it is he will bounce more. This is interesting, he stop bouncing at some time… if the velocity is 1, he will stop quickly, if its 50 it will take a lot longer.

I made some changes in the cam to see if it was a camera issue, but no.

Here is part of the code:

def setupCollisions (self):

base.cTrav = CollisionTraverser()
		base.floor = CollisionHandlerFloor()
		base.floor.setMaxVelocity(5)

#Ground Ray
		self.ralphGroundCol = CollisionNode('ralphRay')
		self.ralphGroundRay = CollisionRay()
		self.ralphGroundRay.setOrigin(0,0,1000)
		self.ralphGroundRay.setDirection(0,0,-1)
		self.ralphGroundCol.addSolid(self.ralphGroundRay) #CollisionRay(0,0,0.0 , 0,0,0.05))
		self.ralphGroundCol.setFromCollideMask(BitMask32.bit(0))
		self.ralphGroundCol.setIntoCollideMask(BitMask32.allOff())
		self.ralphGroundColNp = self.attachNewNode( self.ralphGroundCol)

#Linking Collider
		base.cTrav.addCollider(self.ralphGroundColNp, base.floor)
		base.floor.addCollider(self.ralphGroundColNp, self)

Any ideas ?

EDIT: A BETTER VIEW

Some observations: