Can't output blender to egg

I’m new to 3d modeling and am trying to create a simple character that I can use in my game. I created a char following a tutorial on the blender wiki. I created a simple animation wave. When I try to export it to egg it exports it as a static mesh instead of a animated character. I made sure the envelopes button was unselected. I have no clue what is wrong. Here is a link to my blender file if anyone has time to help me out. http://www.allinfunmagic.com/myguy.blend

Thanks in advance for any help.

hehe i strugged with the same thing today … i am also waiting for a resolution.

Yeah. Probably the problem lies with the fact that Chicken currently only supports the “Armature Modifier” to apply armatures to models, not any other way. I’ve had to struggle with that a lot as well.

Oh, make sure you select both the armature and mesh when exporting.

I do beleave I am using the armature modifier, and I made sure I used the vertex option and not envelopes. I selected both armature and the mesh. But it still exports as a static model. By the way I am a completely new to modeling, so I could be doing a million things wrong.

Ok, I think I figured it out. I had a subsurf modifier, that I hadn’t applied. Once I hit Apply on the sub surf it exports as a character. hopefully it will work now. Now to figure out why my guy is white :cry:

Solved :Adding some light fixed the white problem :wink:

I just wanted to clarify, that whatever limitations are in Chicken are quite often actually limitations in Blender’s Python interface. About the only thing that could be done that I did not add to Chicken is support for morph targets.

Support for accessing the effects of other modifiers aside from the Armature is non existent in Blender.