Calling Panda3D from Matlab

Has anyone tried, or does anyone know if/how well it would work to call Panda3D functions from Matlab? Sorry if this is a silly question; I’m totally new to Panda3D.

Longer story for those interested in background. I’m trying to evaluate Panda3D for the development of scientific experiments in vision research, using a head-tracked VR setup. The two primary requirements are real-time execution, and ease of code development. From what I understand, the former should not be a problem. And if students could access Panda3D from Matlab this would help with the latter issue.

Please advise. Thanks!

I don’t know anything about Matlab. I imagine it has its own language, with its own system for bindings? And that it’s possible to make calls out to C-library functions?

It all depends on the nature of Matlab’s callout mechanism. But presumably you can’t just automatically create C++ objects within Matlab without first running the C++ code through a program like SWIG or interrogate. If this is the case, then it is possible to make Panda work with Matlab, just as it is possible to make it work with any interpreted language that can do callouts. However, it would be a lot of effort. We’ve already done the effort to make it work with Python, but we don’t have any plans to add support for additional languages right now–you’d have to do that work yourself, and be prepared to maintain it as well.

On the other hand, if Matlab can call Python functions, you’re golden.

David

I’ll admit I don’t use matlab, can’t stand the monster, and hence am speculating to some extent, but a lot of people in my group use it, hence I’m not entirely shooting in the dark. But its easy enough to see what options are available: