Breaking a game into multiple files [SOLVED]

Hey everyone, I’m a 3D artist with some coding experience and I’ve decided to make myself a game using Panda3D as the engine. Things are going good so far, I’m pretty happy with my progress. But I have run into a problem which I can’t find a solution to, probably because it’s such a simple thing.

I prefer to organize my OOP code into multiple files, usually a separate file for each class. Then when I use Notepad++ and have all the files open in tabs, it’s easy to switch around between the classes and keep all my code in arm’s reach.

So, here’s the problem. How do I include additional .py files in my primary file? Also, if I use class A in class B (for instance, if one of class A’s functions is passed an instance of class B) will I need to include class B’s file in class A’s file, even though they are both included in the ‘master’ file? Lastly, will I need to do all the panda module imports for each file, or is just putting them in the ‘master’ file enough?

Also, will structuring my code this way reduce the efficiency, making it run slower or anything like that? Most of my coding up to now has been in Processing and Action Script, just for you reference.

Thanks in advance.

the answer to your question can be found in most, if not every python tutorial/book.
it’s quite easy.
if you have main.py and yourclass.py
you can simply do (inside the main.py)

import yourclass

if panda is missing modules when you try to use them , it’ll immediately throw an error message telling you whats missing.

Thanks for the reply, Thomas. I did what you suggested using

import FILENAME

and I received an error message:

TypeError: ‘module’ object is not callable