Blender -> egg questions

Let me preface this by saying that I am not an artist. If I try to make something in blender it looks like it went through, well, a blender.

Nonetheless, my artist friend has been making some models for my game. The problem is that the textures do not seem to be making it through.

I have posted the blend, egg, and a jpg file for anyone that can take a look for me. They are piggybacking off of my wifes photography website. Here are the urls:

How it should look.

The blend file

The egg dropped by chicken

We are having the same issue on all of the models he has sent me. If possible, I would like to get the textures as a separate jpg, so that I can reskin some of the ships, but I would be happy just getting the textures applied at this point.

Pview and the game both show the same model. I have tried turning on lighting in pview, and I also have light sources in-game, but it doesn’t help.

I am guessing that there is something simple we aren’t doing right, but I just don’t know what it is. Thanks for any and all advice!

Well, loading up the .blend file into Blender, the first thing I noticed is that the satellite isn’t UV-mapped. Chicken will only export UV-mapped surfaces. (Under Map Input in the Material button, it must be set to UV, and nothing else.)

I tossed onto a simple UV map on the satellite object and textures are showing up for me in Pview.

You’ll need to let your artist know that the models need to be fully UV mapped, and AFAIK, only one UV map per mesh. (I’m not even sure if Blender supports multiple UV maps per mesh. Lightwave does, and you have to be careful of that.)

Just to clarify the above - Blender and Chicken both support multiple UV maps just fine.

Hello :wink:

I’m gettin the exact same error as Tutunkommon while my textures are well defined as UV.
In my case, it’s like Panda doesn’t know where the textures I’m using are located…
Here’s the error message I’m having:

DirectStart: Starting the game.