Beginner's questions

Hey there,

I’m new to Panda3D but have read parts of the manual, worked through some of the samples, etc. Still, there’s a LOT of stuff I don’t know about but that’s not the problem. The real problem is, I have never done any work with Blender/Maya/3dsmax/etc. so I have no knowledge what so ever about creating models. Now that appears to be some problem as almost everything I try to display requires me to load some model…

Suppose I just wanna display 2 planes being orthogonal to each other - e.g. described by normal vectors (0,0,1) and (0,1,0). I don’t care about textures, surface structure or any other neat detail. I just want two mono-color planes that I can move around (along a plane’s normal vector). Do I REALLY have to create models for that ?

Thanks,
Amnu

there are several ways you can do that.

1. (easy) there are several models in the models folder included in the panda3d distribution. (in the models folder)
  2. (easy) there are several models in the samples which you can copy somewhere else and use them (for example there is a plane.egg.pz in the Asteroids/models folder.
  3. (easy) there are additional models you can download (under Downloads), the art-gallery.zip.
  4. (moderate) you can use the CardMaker (here’s some sample usage: panda3d.org/manual/index.php/S … eplacement)
  5. (complex) you can use the EggData (or GeomVertexWriter) interface to generate a model by generating points, triangles etc. (panda3d.org/manual/index.php/W … ut_to_Disk).

you may even find someone who makes very simple models for you, eighther in the forums or in irc if you ask nicely.

i’ve created a package of the basic primitives, because i’ve think this could be useful for everyone, and maybe even included in panda3d:

nouser.org/PMW/pmwiki.php/Re … Primitives

Hey, thanks on the basic primitives, Hypnos. Those are useful. :slight_smile: