Beginner questions...

I just started playing around with Panda3d, so obviously I have a number of questions.

Classes, methods, and bears, oh my! Seriously though, I started messing around with Yarr and the first thing I wanted to do is get the camera to follow that little Ralph guy. Reparenting the camera to Ralph was easy enough, but in looking through the Reference area for the camera class I couldn’t find docs on how to automatically point the camera at Ralph. I took a guess and tried base.camera.lookAt(self.ralph) and it worked great. Same for base.camera.setZ(), base.camera.getZ(), etc. Where am I supposed to be looking for this kind of info?

What do I need to use for free unrestricted use (ie commercial product even though at this time I have no intent to write a commercial game)? Is using OpenAL for sound the only thing to watch out for or are there other restricted parts that come with the Panda3D standard install?

Finally, is there someplace where I can find any/all built-in options for various additional functionality such as sound (OpenAL vs. FMOD), physics (ODE, PhysX, others?), terrain (GeoMipTerrain, others?)? In searching the forums it looks like there have been some fantastic progress in implementing additional functionality, but it’s hard to figure out just what is implemented, what is in progress, and what is available via separate contributions but not yet part of the official release.

1. I urge you to learn a good amount of Python before going into Panda very much - I’d say a good half of the questions I’ve seen asked can be solved using Python functions.

2. The kind of info you’re looking for is in the manual and reference sections of this site. It may take a few searches before you learn how it’s all layed out, but there isn’t one huge list of everything you need to know.

3. Nothing by default is restricted commercially in Panda, I believe. OpenAL is fine to use, FMOD, on the other hand, is expensive commercially.