attributeMap texture shader

hey all,

im pretty new to panda and am trying to texture a terrain i made with l3dt.
l3dt generates an alpha-map for each texture used in the landscape…
it also can generate an color-coded attributemap which seems to be nearly the same as the alphamaps but in one image just using different colors…

i tried pro-rsofts shader for using multiple alpha-maps to apply the textures and extended it to be able to use 6 textures (and alpha-maps) since the l3dt-landscape uses 6 different textures.

result was, it didnt work with 6 textures (dont ask me why).
“not working” means here -> everywhere the same texture was used.

it did work with 5 textures though it looked pretty ugly… anyways… im only at the real basics here and want to understand how to texturize a landscape exactly as it looked in l3dt efficiently ,)

since it worked with 5 textures and i read pro-rsofts comment about it being very inefficient to store 5 alphamaps in 5 different files and so on i thought, ok: why not use the attributemap from l3dt, convert it to grayscale and select the texture to use in the shader based on the greyscale value…

problem is… i have no clue about shaders really and i have no idea how to debug them ,)

my concrete problem can be explained in the fshader shown below…

void fshader( in float4 l_position : POSITION,
              in float2 l_texcoord0 : TEXCOORD0,
              in float2 l_texcoord3 : TEXCOORD3,
	          in float  l_brightness, 
              in uniform sampler2D tex_0 : TEXUNIT0,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_1 : TEXUNIT1,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_2 : TEXUNIT2,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_3 : TEXUNIT3,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_4 : TEXUNIT4,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_5 : TEXUNIT5,
              in uniform sampler2D tex_6 : TEXUNIT6,
              out float4 o_color : COLOR )
{
  float4 tex1 = tex2D(tex_0,l_texcoord0);
  float4 tex2 = tex2D(tex_1,l_texcoord0);