Aim Icon and Depth

I’m practicing a shooter mode look for the first time and wonder, what is the best way to get an Aim Point Icon on the screen, and have that Icon sit in front the the main character, but not fall behind enemies or walls when they come close?

Should the Icon be drawn 2D or can it be a 3D object? I have no knowledge of how to control depth with P3D.

I’d go with 2D. Create an OnscreenImage that loads your crosshair texture, move it to the center of the screen, and you’re good to go. All in all, around 3-4 lines of Python.

The thing is, my shooter mode is not first person. It’s a close up, over the shoulder look, as the Actor aims. I’m sure you’ve seen that look before in games and know what I’m talking about.

Would a 2D sprite sit over the character? That’s the issue. How can I get the cross-hair in front of the main Actor (always) and not fall behind enemies at the same time?

You can use either approach.

If you go with a 2-D approach, you need to find a way to map the 3-D location of your target to the corresponding 2-D position on the screen. One way to do this is with the function base.camLens.project(), which uses the lens transform to convert from 3-D to 2-D, but you also have to pre-transform the 3-D position into the coordinate space of the lens. There are examples of this being done elsewhere in the forums.

If you go with a 3-D approach, you need to tell the crosshairs to render on top of everything else. You can easily do this by disabling the depth test, and setting a bit so it renders last, like this:

crosshairs.setDepthTest(False)
crosshairs.setBin('fixed', 0)

You will probably also want to set a billboard effect so that the crosshairs rotates to face the camera, and turn on two-sided rendering so you don’t have to think about which way is forward:

crosshairs.setBillboardPointEye()
crosshairs.setTwoSided(True)

David