Adding objects to Roaming Ralph's world

Hi.

I want to add objects to the world of Roaming Ralph and I want to randomize the XY position of the objects.

How can I get the Z coordinate of any given XY point in the “world” ??

Best regards,
KK

You must place a temporary object with a CollisionRay at the given point and check it for collisions. Just exactly as in Ralph’s case.

i really sugest you change the terrain to a Geomipmap one, then you only have to use the built-in getElevation(x,y) function

Hi guys.

I’ve created the CollisionRay at the given xy point, attached it to my object and it points down to the terrain. How can I get the Z coordinate to move my object down to the ground?

I’m a total newby, so sorry for the silly questions :confused:

Create a collision handler, attach to traverser, traverse once and get the collision entry from the handler (unless you use a Floor handler, in which case it gets done automatically, I guess)
Roaming Ralph shows how to achieve this.

I implemented it creating a node with a collisionray pointing down, and a personal traverser; when i load the level, i place the collision node at random x, y position, call traverser.traverse(render) and get the x from the cEntry with a cHandlerQueue.
Then i place at that position the model I want.
This metod creates the nodes:

def createRayPutter(self):
        #this node serves to put elements at the right height
        self.cDummy=self.model.attachNewNode(CollisionNode("cDummy"))
        self.floorRay=CollisionRay()
        self.floorRay.setDirection(0,0,-1)
        self.floorRay.setOrigin(0, 0, 100)
        self.cDummy.node().addSolid(self.floorRay)
        self.cDummy.node().setIntoCollideMask(BitMask32.allOff())
        self.cDummy.node().setFromCollideMask(BitMask32.bit(0))
        self.cHandler=CollisionHandlerQueue()
        self.cTrav=CollisionTraverser()
        self.cTrav.addCollider(self.cDummy, self.cHandler)

Then I use another metod to do the rest:

def putBush(self):